Bitches Love Drama: Mary J. Blige’s “Mr. Wrong”

[Drake]
“Don’t it seem like
Like I’m always there when it matters
But missing most of the other time
A terrible pattern
The rewards I see from working
Made me an addict
There’s way more people that want it
Than people that have it
I don’t get it, I would hate to think I tricked ‘em
They fall victim to my system
Guess I sure know how to pick em
And I’m always her regret
Yeah, I’m always her regret
And I always make it harder on whoever’s coming next
It goes up and down, it’s just up and down
She’s crying now but she’ll laugh again
Cause we on the rise and she here with us
And expensive shit, just keeps happening
She loves it, she stares at me like who does this
And we hold hands while I pray that she’s not the type to hold grudges
I’m wrong..”

– Rapper Drake (portraying himself as “Mr. Wrong”) reveals the kind of man he is: an alpha stud who has a strong hold over the women in his life. Admitting he is always the one a woman regrets, yet he is always her favorite mistake. Plus, he fucks it up for the next man (idiot) to come into her life, to love or rescue her. He either fucks it up by giving her the best sex she’s ever had, or he does so by constant malicious intent (via running game on her). She also seems to be the type who takes the good with the bad.

[Mary J Blige]
Bad boys ain’t no good
Good boys ain’t no fun
Lord knows that I should
Run off with the right one

– Self explanatory, isn’t it? Women fuck the bad ones and marry the good ones after they’ve become jaded.

[Hook]
Me and Mr. Wrong get along so good (so good)
Even though he breaks my heart so bad (so bad)
We got a special thing going on
Me and Mr. Wrong (Mr. Wrong)
Even if I try, no, I never could
Give him up cause his loves like that
Ain’t no way that I’m moving on
I love my Mr. Wrong

– Though “Mr. Wrong” has no interest in being exclusive to her and brings drama to the table, she still finalizes he’s the best she’s had.

Hung up off your good
You call and I run
My fam’ is screaming at me don’t do it
“Don’t do it, Mary!”
I guess they never had none

– She voluntarily refuses to walk away from her “bad boy”. Instead, she runs to him every time he gets her attention. Her family is advising her to leave him alone. But apparently, they never experienced a “bad boy” type (could be due to generational differences or because they never had mind-blowing orgasms).

[Hook]

When he put that loving on me, I can’t think of nothing
That’ll make me walk out
I’m holding on
I love my Mr. Wrong
He be kissing and touching on me
I can’t help but love him
I must be out my mind
For going so strong
I love my Mr. Wrong

– Sexual chemistry alleviates everything else that’s wrong with “Mr. Wrong”.
What does this tell you? Mary J. Blige’s “Mr. Wrong” and Jhene Aiko’s “The Worst” are two remarkable songs in the R&B genre. Though many pop songs written by white female artists like Adele reveal the same dark side about the tangled mess of feminine psychology, the message is one in the same. Women keep the “nice guys” on the shelf while they give alpha studs their absolute best. Again, it’s art imitating life. And bitches love drama!

Leave a Reply

